Once Upon A Time…

161MC brings with it the chance to recreate a fairytale into the modern day world. I find this particular task very interesting because of my love for fairytales and what they mean to so many people. Thinking about it; I am finding it hard to decide which fairytale I would want to recreate in modern day, my favourite fairytale would have to be ‘The Little Mermaid’, but I am not too sure how I would go about making sure that the retelling of the story is done right.

However I am going to do my best to ensure that the modern retelling of the story is done right and to the best of my ability! I have done some research into the story of ‘The Little Mermaid’ and I have seen how much it has been adapted since the Disney film came out in 1989. The story of the mermaid didn’t begin with Disney, but the author; Hans Christian Anderson in 1837; with a whole other story. It really is a great story. There have been many stories of the little mermaid, so I want to make sure that I look at them all and get a feel for what the core story is.

Since the Disney adaptation, the story of the little mermaid has been spread through various films, TV series, a stage adaptation and countless merchandise. Disney have created a whole franchise out of the story. It really is a great film and I am looking forwards to retelling it all and making my own mark on such a classic tale. I am not sure what type of media I will be using to re-create the story of ‘The Little Mermaid’, but I am already thinking about Google maps, because of the opportunities to tell the story through a map. It is something that I will be deciding on very soon, as long as I know that I can do what I want to do; make the story into modern day.

The video above is a excellent example of a modern day retelling of a fairytale. The film (which is to be released in Summer 2012) is retelling Snow White & The Seven Dwarfs with a dark and more adult themed movie. Something that hasn’t become unheard of lately, with the film Alice In Wonderland; which grossed over a billion dollars.

I also have found news of an actual modern day retelling of the story of ‘The Little Mermaid’, which is in development by Sony. This helps to know that it is something that happens all the time and also something that is widely popular in Hollywood nowadays.

Leave a Reply

