My Poetic Eyes – Joshua Farmer

For this project, I wanted to make something that can be applied to anyone. The main theme of the poem is ‘Who are you? Who am I?’. This is a universal issue that generally happens to everyone at anytime throughout their life, knowing who you are is an important aspect of being who you are. It’s important to know who you are because it shapes your personality, your happiness and allows you to be true to what you want out of life and what kind of person you want to be.

This poem goes through what it means to know who you are. The questions you say to yourself in the mirror or the thoughts that you think to yourself. It’s composed of things that I know many people would have asked themselves etc. Everyone is different and I wanted to focus on who we all are as people, in particular  how everyone must celebrate what makes them different and what makes them who they are.

Everyone goes through it sometime in their life where they ask themselves, Who am I? What do I want out of this life? What will I become? Something that I have gone through myself. Celebrate individualism and support differences and bring about acceptance to those people who aren’t deemed ‘normal’. Everyone is different, get over it.

With this video, I hope to bring about more awareness of people realising what makes them different and what makes them who they are. It has taken me a long time to get it how I want it and I am pleased with the outcome, I like the poem itself and I like what I have created to accompany it in the video above.

2 thoughts on “My Poetic Eyes – Joshua Farmer

  1. You REALLY need to sort out your categories as I have wasted a lot of time wading through some poor material to find this. Set up a cat for 160 T2 and put the work in there so it can be marked.

    If this is your Reflection 1 then do you think you have covered all these points well enough?

    Critical: Be aware of history, practice and society.
    Creative: Do not limit or censor yourself. Dream and strive.
    Craft: Respect and engage in the technical aspects.

Leave a Reply

