Looking Forward and Looking Back…2012.

Happy 2012!!!

It’s been a while since my last blogging session, which has given me more time to think about what I want to do in 2012 and what I want to accomplish. The blogging will occur more often, thats or definite!

Looking through Mark Kermode’s blog has made me think more about looking forward and also looking back, something that I feel everyone should do at the beginning of the year, especially media students! His blog about his favourite movies of 2011 and his least favourite movies of 2011 captured me; because it is something that I want to do this year. His blog is full of very interesting posts and I realised that he knows a lot about what he does; he’s a real professional, for example he talks about many films that I didn’t even know existed; which leads me to my media production student resolution for the entire 2012!

I want to make sure that I focus more on media. Film, Television, radio, books and everything else media related, so that come 2013 I have a much wider perspective and also a much deeper knowledge of everything media related. I want to be even better this year.

Looking back at 2011, it was such a great and diverse year for film; something that is only going to get better in 2012. I have watched more films this year than ever before, especially more mainstream films. I want to make sure that I watch more films this year, especially ones that aren’t as big or well known. Here is my round up of the best and worst films of the year that was 2011; baring in mind I haven’t spread my eyes further the horizon than I should have!

Here are my top 2 films of 2011…

1. Bridesmaids – This film was a big surprise for me, a relatively small film that was so good in every aspect, brought about a hit. This film appealed to me for so many reasons; the biggest being it’s humour. In what was the woman’s response to The Hangover, this film offers so much more than a regular comedy. The writing is superb, the cast couldn’t be better and the story is rich and plotted out in such a way that allows easy viewing. This film has to be my favourite film of 2011 because it offers so much more, it raised the bar for comedy films; but not just that, it offered something not many films do these days, it gave audiences real characters and a film that people could actually relate to. Bring on Bridesmaids 2 I say…

2. Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 2 – It had to happen sooner or later, the brilliant franchise had to come to an end; and 2011 was the time. I was worried when news spread that the final book would be split into two films; mainly because I thought it was just for the financial benefits, but I realised that it was really all for the story. I wanted to be amazed for this film, but I was simply saddened that this would be the last time I would be cheering Harry on. The climatic movie brings laughs, drama, spells, death, snakes, death, spells, death, fights and a brilliant ending to such a thrilling and magical series.

Here are my worst 2 films of 2011…

1. New Years Eve – It couldn’t have been good when it was announced the 2010 film ‘Valentines Day’ would be receiving a sequel; but this is a sequel with a difference; a different cast. So many people would expect it to be better and even more appealing than the first, it isn’t. It lacks interesting plot like its predecessor had in 2010 as well as missing out on having a key development in story, meaning the film drags and drags. It needs a much more detailed production and the cast need to know they are making a movie, not just pretending for money.

2. The Hangover 2 – Though the first film was fresh, imaginative, bold and very funny; the same cannot be said for the sequel. The first films story is repeated and everything is basically the same, except the location. Boring and bland, it really isn’t worthy of being linked to the first film. This film made $600 million at the box office, so theres bound to be a third instalment, let’s just hope that they actually think of a story this time and make us believe hangovers can be cured.

2012: A Blockbuster Year!

Looking forward means looking at the great year ahead for motion pictures. A major blockbuster year that is sure to be a thrilling time for audiences. Among the films to be excited about, they all have something similar…The Woman In Black, Mirror Mirror, The Hunger Games, American Reunion, The Avengers, Men In Black 3, Snow White & The Huntsman, Madagascar 3, The Amazing Spider-man, Ice Age 4, The Dark Knight Rises, Skyfall and The Hobbit.

WOW. It’s gonna be big.

Leave a Reply

